Otherwise by Jane Kenyon

I got out of bed
on two strong legs.
It might have been
otherwise. I ate
cereal, sweet
milk, ripe, flawless
peach. It might
have been otherwise.
I took the dog uphill
to the birch wood.
All morning I did
the work I love.

At noon I lay down
with my mate. It might
have been otherwise.
We ate dinner together
at a table with silver
candlesticks. It might
have been otherwise.
I slept in a bed
in a room with paintings
on the walls, and
planned another day
just like this day.
But one day, I know,
it will be otherwise.

Jane Kenyon from Otherwise: New and Selected Poems  (Graywolf Press, 1996)

This entry was posted in death, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Otherwise by Jane Kenyon

  1. That is beautiful…simply beautiful. Change is inevitable. There is nothing we can do but enjoy the moment and be thankful that we recognize these blissful pauses and treasure them. What a lovely poem to offer us this evening!

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    This touches so deeply. It’s a sad thought but I suppose, necessary. Who would ever want to think of how life will transition without a loved one…This message, I will remember.

  3. Michael says:

    Great poem. Just ordered the book from EPL. Thanks.

  4. Jerome Bloom says:

    THANKS

    SPIN THE TOP

    SPIN THE BOTTLE

    WAKEUP

    DONT

    PUT

    AN ENSO

    AROUND YOUR

    HIPS

    AND

    SHAKE RATTLE AND ROLL

Leave a comment