“Choices We Make When We Are Too Young To Make Them” by Lois Parker Edstrom

IMG_3220

Evenings at the table with my father,
stewing over algebraic equations,

chemical reactions, my young life
sloped toward science and healing.

He didn’t recognize, nor did I,
how I fingered letters

the way the devout touch
prayer beads, that I held them

up to my ear to hear the music
they made when strung together,

a child rearranging alphabet blocks,
balancing them into a fragile

tower that spelled out something
I was too young to understand.

I can’t say how we know
we please, without hearing the exact

words, but I knew. His pride in me
slipped into my hands with soup spoons

and Yardley’s soap as I fed and bathed him
during the last months of his life.

I often wonder if he is surprised,
living as he does, in the spaces

between words, there among
the pages of my books.

“Choices We Make When We Are Too Young To Make Them” by Lois Parker Edstrom from Night Beyond Black. © MoonPath Press, 2016.

This entry was posted in parents, poetry, relationship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Choices We Make When We Are Too Young To Make Them” by Lois Parker Edstrom

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    SO BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

