I feel better already

1947+Vicks+VapoRub+mother+ad+2+150dpi

I just finished talking with my 88 year-old mother who is in assisted living, in a memory-enhanced unit. This last week I was pretty sick, had the chills, couldn’t get warm, but now I am on the upswing with just a lingering cough which became pretty obvious in the phone call I made to her today.

“Listen to me— this is what I want you to do. Get a stick of butter and put it in a pot of milk. Warm it up so the butter melts and drink it down. It will coat your throat.”

“I remember when you made that for us when we were sick. Sometimes you added vanilla so it tasted better.”

“That’s right. Remember— the butter in a glass. Pour hot water over it.

“I will.”

“Then you should get some rest.”

“I will.”

“Do you have any… ah…”

“Vicks?”

“Yes, Vicks.”

“Rub it on your chest and back. This is good too.”

“I remember this too. Whoah super powerful smell!”

“The smell is what gets you better. Now, before you lie down for your rest, make yourself a cup of tea. Take a tea kettle and put water in it.”

“Alright.”

“Warm the water on the stove. Pour the hot water into a glass and put a tea bag in.”

“OK.”

“Add a tablespoon, not a teaspoon, a tablespoon of honey. You have honey don’t you?”

“Oh yes, we have lots of honey.”

“Good.”

“Then add the whiskey, right?”

“Yes. Then add some Canadian Club. It works real good. Then get some rest. In fact, drinking this will help you get rest.”

“We used to hate drinking this when we were small. It got more delicious the older we got.”

“No matter how it tastes, drink it down. All of it. Do you hear me? And remember, drink down the ‘buttermilk’ too.”

It’s so nice when a mother still tries to take care of her 65 year-old daughter. I feel better already!

 

This entry was posted in mother, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I feel better already

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    DRUNKINGLY SWEET AND CAN WE PLEASE SKIP THE BUTTER THING

    GETTING WELL IS A LONG JOURNEY

    NAMASTE JAN PEARL

Leave a Reply

