Am I going to die?

IMG_1686

My mother and I were sitting in a small outside garden of her assisted living facility before dinner yesterday. The weather was beautiful. Not too hot. Not too cool. A small breeze. The sounds of a bubbling faux stream behind us. Lots of flowers.

“Last Wednesday the doctor made her rounds. She had all my files on her lap. I asked her ‘Am I going to die?’”

“What kind of question is that?” I said with as much compassion as I could muster. “Of course you’re going to die. I’m going to die. You’re going to die. We all die.”

“I know that. That’s not what I meant. The doctor knew exactly what I meant.”

“What did she say?”

“She said, ‘There’s nothing in your chart that says you will die anytime soon.’”

“And what did you say?”

“I told her, ‘That’s good.’”

This entry was posted in aging, compassion, death and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I going to die?

  1. “End of life discussions!” Did you get to see my post about my conversation with Gregory about Death? http://mhorvichcares.blogspot.com/2015/07/the-birds-and-bees.html

Leave a Reply

