You know how it is with adventures

movie-1My son left early this morning for the airport, on his way to Japan, his third trip there. This time the trip will last for at least three months but may be as long as two years or more, depending on if a specific teaching job pans out for him. He will be living in Tokyo with an old friend.

Once, when he was small, maybe 6 or 7 years old, I had the opportunity to change jobs but wasn’t sure it was the right move for me or for the family. In response he told me, “You know how it is with adventures, Mom. Sometimes you just have to go on ’em.” That clinched it for me and I made the change.

Though I will miss him a lot and am quite melancholy about his leaving, I definitely know how it is with adventures.

(The GIF at the top of this post was created by my son on his first trip in 2011-12.)

This entry was posted in family, Japan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You know how it is with adventures

  1. A mother’s love …

  2. Jerome B.Bloom says:

    AND
    A
    FATHER’S

Leave a Reply

