…nothing to do with miles

DSC_0036

Very early this morning JB and I went to the Botanical Gardens. It was a cool, crisp, sunny day, 58 degrees, an unusual June morning. As we walked through the Japanese Gardens, I couldn’t help but think of my son’s imminent journey back to Japan (he will be leaving a week from this Saturday). This trip may last longer than his originally planned three month sojourn, in fact, may last two years— maybe more.

I am very supportive of his decision to go, supportive of adventure and risk-taking, but I am also feeling very melancholy at the physical distance he will be from us. I will work hard to convince myself that closeness, intimacy, and deep connection have nothing to do with miles.

DSC_0202 DSC_0147 DSC_0041DSC_0068DSC_0176 DSC_0050DSC_0117DSC_0228

This entry was posted in garden, photography, relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …nothing to do with miles

  1. Closeness, intimacy, and deep connection have nothing to do with miles, one carries them in the closeness of one’s heart!

  2. anvilcrow says:

    We
    Are
    Family

    Namaste

    P.S.
    Great walk in CBG with you
    AS always love seeing
    through your(ist) eyes

    Namaste

  3. Darci says:

    I am late to this post but wanted to connect. My daughter (who live 3000 miles) from me will be going to Croatia for 14 weeks to interpret for a deaf student studying aboard. We talk daily and I am trying to figure out what this will look like now. With the time difference we can FaceTime in my morning and her evening but I just keep thinking about the distance.

Leave a Reply

