Commissioned piece for a retiring colleague

IMG_0696For a colleague who is retiring, I was asked to put together an art piece. I asked all the faculty and staff to fill a small acrylic box with some symbol that was a wish or gratitude for this particular individual. Then a card was to be filled out with the details of the item as a personal note to him.

I glued these boxes onto an old book called Voyages and Travels (1887) that I happened to have in a stack in my studio. I made a container for the cards which I glued on the back of the book.

After working all day, I finally finished it. He’ll be presented with this gift at our faculty meeting this Tuesday. He’s a gentle and caring soul, a healing spirit. He will be touched by the effort and thoughtfulness of this community art-making for him.

IMG_0695

This entry was posted in art, school and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Commissioned piece for a retiring colleague

  1. Jealous … in a good way!

  2. anvilcrow says:

    Happy to see you
    Working in ART
    YOU
    ARE
    LOVE

    NAMASTE

  3. nouvellesdechicago says:

    You are amazing.

Leave a Reply

