Trench Warfare

IMG_0206My middle school classroom is set up with big tables which makes a great space for projects and group work. When there’s a test, however, the students are often on top of each other. Most of my students would never think of looking at anyone else’s papers, but when they are so close, the temptation has to be way too strong. So when I give tests I will often put file folders out so the students can build a bit of a visual barrier around them.

For our World War I test last week, DE, HD, and NN used the file folders to build a complicated network of trenches. One trench was also supplied with kleenex that actually was first invented as a gas mask filter in World War I.

“Look at our trenches Ms. Y. We’re hunkering down. No ‘over the top’ for us.”

I love my job.

This entry was posted in history, school, Teaching, World War I and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

