“Truth Difficulty” by The Roving Typist

IMG_5802Back in February, I wrote about The Roving Typist, a writer who spontaneously creates stories on the streets for people, “stories composed for you while you wait.” He doesn’t keep copies of his stories, he doesn’t keep track of who buys them. He just writes them and then lets them go.  His work began as a way to make some money, but has evolved into a kind of performance. I have reposted the video about him at the end of this post.

IMG_5805

The reason that I am writing about Christopher Hermelin is that I ordered a story online from him and it just came today! He had asked if I wanted the story to be about anything in particular and I gave him free rein. With great anticipation, I opened the envelope. Inside the larger envelope was a card-sized envelope stamped with his insignia (typewriter-above left) and the title of the story at its bottom. Inside was a folded cream-colored sheet of paper, carefully torn in half (from an 8 1/2 x 11) accompanied with his business card. I slowly unfolded the story. The story is typed on his manual typewriter, with its quirks and dying ribbon, so it feels very personal, almost from another era. I do believe my heart was racing a bit as the story unfolded itself to me.

The story, posted below, is called, “Truth Difficulty.” It has already become a cherished treasure.

IMG_5807

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Truth Difficulty” by The Roving Typist

  1. Why do these kind of stories always move me to tears. When I hear about (or see) someone who takes the usual and makes it into the unusual, or takes the old and makes it new and different, I find myself being envious. I need to specify what I mean by “envious.” Read the following from Wikipedia and know that I mean “Benign Envy!” Envy (from Latin invidia) is an emotion which “occurs when a person lacks another’s superior quality, achievement, or possession and either desires it or wishes that the other lacked it” Bertrand Russell said that envy was one of the most potent causes of unhappiness. Not only is the envious person rendered unhappy by his envy, but they also wish to inflict misfortune on others. Although envy is generally seen as something negative, Russell also believed that envy was a driving force behind the movement towards democracy and must be endured to achieve a more just social system. However, psychologists have recently suggested that there may be two types of envy: malicious envy and benign envy—benign envy being proposed as a type of positive motivational force.

  2. Jerome Bloom says:

    I
    LOVE
    THE
    TEACHERS
    IN
    MY LIFE

  3. So happy someone is doing this!

  4. Reblogged this on Claire La Secretaire and commented:
    I love that this exists 🙂

Leave a Reply

