Twin replantings

IMG_7973

On this equinox, I divided and replanted the peony that was first planted over 86 years ago when my mother and her twin were born. Since I first planted them in the front yard about a dozen years ago, the plant has been increasingly overwhelmed by a tree peony and ivy growing up the fence.

A few years ago, my cousin found the photo of my mother and her twin sitting in front of this very peony (my mother is on the left). My sister, my cousin (daughter of my mother’s twin), and I all have cuttings from this plant (and, joined by a few others, we are all, literally, cuttings from the twins themselves).

IMG_7972

This entry was posted in flowers, twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twin replantings

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    WE GROW
    PROSPER
    IN SO MANY
    UNIQUE
    FASCINATING
    WAYS

Leave a Reply

