Happy Birthday, Rachmaninov

Today is Rachmaninov’s (1873-1943) birthday. So I began to think of his Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini which got me to thinking about the first time I heard that piece of music. It was in a Music History class over 30 years ago that I was sitting in on when I taught at the Chicago Academy for the Arts. And then I began to think of the teacher/colleague for that class, a passionate, exuberant, and bright vocal conductor, who opened my ears to the details and emotion of sound. I remembered our working together (along with a half a dozen others) to build this new school dedicated to the arts, fueled in young enthusiasm and zeal and absolute commitment. I wondered what had happened to him and decided to google him and discovered in a wikipedia entry about him that he just got a job at the prestigious university about two miles from our house as a tenured professor and director of choral organizations. And now I’m in the process of reconnecting with this old friend. Happy Birthday and thank you, Rachmaninov, for reconnecting us once again!

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

