“Cups”

IMG_4560Today my students taught me “Cups.” In fact, they were at it all day. First during advisory, then at the beginning of tutorial (study hall), and then at the end of Humanities class. I got to be pretty good.

“Cups” is one of those viral cultural rhythmic compositions that was first performed by the folk group “Lulu and the Lampshades” (see below) and then became even more famous in the movie Pitch Perfect where Anna Kendrick sings and performs “Cups” (“You’re gonna miss me”). My students have assured me it works with all sorts of songs.

As the year 2013 begins, I can safely say I am no longer culturally deficient or deprived. I have definitely crossed into the realm of the hip. My culpability for cup ability is palpable and to be envied.

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/bandstandbusking/lulu-and-the-lampshades-cups-2691478 w=640&h=480]

This entry was posted in school, teenagers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Cups”

  1. Mrs. Chili says:

    Now that’s stuck in my head! What a fun little bit! It’s going to be a good day!

Leave a Reply

