Untangling

IMG_4304I am working on untangling the many knots
in a necklace my mother’s older sister gave me
before she died
this fall

As I loosen
these tight places
I imagine she had given up years ago
trying
leaving me to unravel
these impossibly complex and
impenetrable links

© Yourist 2012

This entry was posted in family, poetry, relationship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untangling

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    FOR ME
    IT WAS
    TANGLES AND KNOTS

    MY FATHER
    AND I
    FISHED A LOT
    WHEN
    I WAS A TEENAGER

    OUR LINES
    OFTEN GOT
    MESSED
    UNUSABLE

    MOSTLY
    MY FAULT
    MY TASK
    TO
    UNTANGLE

    I LEARNED
    TO SEE
    THE PATHWAYS
    OUT
    A SKILL
    PERFECTED
    USABLE
    TO THIS DAY

Leave a Reply

