Stuffed in the Olive Garden

Every time I visit my mother and her husband, they want to take me out to eat. It’s a treat for them to get out and break their routine. We usually go to either Bob Evans or the Olive Garden, both of which are perfect for seniors. There is lots of room for wheel chairs, the meals are relatively cheap, and at the Olive Garden, there is unlimited soup or salad with your meal. In fact, if you don’t finish any of that unlimited soup or salad, you can box it up and take it home—including the bread sticks. The iced tea is bottomless as well. On a fixed income, this is luxury. And they can feel generous popping for my meal.

Needless to say, for birthdays and holidays, my brother, sister, and I purchase lots of gift cards for Olive Garden for them. And needless to say, this last weekend while Megan explained the specials to us and my mother urged me to get something more “pricey,” they were treating me on either my or my brother or sister’s dime. Gift cards help my mother and her husband to feel magnanimous and empowered and, in a restaurant which prides itself on abundance, we all can feel overindulged.

This entry was posted in aging, family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stuffed in the Olive Garden

  1. My mom and dad too. Now my sister. Next you and JB and GM and me.

  2. Mrs. Chili says:

    My in-laws bring us to the Olive Garden a lot (but they don’t need our assistance to do it; my in-laws are pretty well off). I sometimes get crap from them, though, because I order the same thing every time we go – I’m in love with their chicken marsala.

  3. Jerome Bloom says:

    WE CAN ALL

    COZY TOGETHER AT COZY NOODLES

  4. Dr. McGann says:

    Thanks for the smile!

Leave a Reply

