I am Kate

Having mirrors in exercise rooms is challenging. Your body is always in front of you, letting you know its imperfections or, certainly in my case, its overabundance. Today in qigong it struck me that I had become, physically at least, my grandmother Kate (after whom my sister is named).

Kate was an awesome storyteller and family tradition describes how she would start a story on Monday and leave it at a cliffhanger ending late in the afternoon. All the women in the neighborhood would come the next day and the next and the next to sit on her front porch to finally hear the story finished. She was also reputed to have had a terrific sense of humor. She died when I was two.

From photos I know that Kate was a square woman, short and large. Kate and I share the same peasant body type. So today, just before qigong’s “Fire and Water meet” and “Lion turns his head and wakes up,” I am happy that seeing my body has reminded me to be thinking of Kate and how much my father adored her. In the photo above she is the same age as I am now.

In my reflection, I look to embrace her grace and creativity, but, more importantly, I seek to channel her sense of humor — especially for the duration of this qigong class.

This entry was posted in aging, exercise, family, neighborhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am Kate

  1. anvilcrow says:

    NO
    NEED
    TO
    CHANNEL
    HER

    KATE

    LIVES

    IN

    YOUR

    SOUL

    AS

    AN

    OLD STORY GOES

    CHOP WOOD

    CARRY WATER

    FORGET THE MIRRORS

    TELL STORIES

    GRANDMA K

    WHISPERS

    IN YOUR

    HEAD

  2. jyourist says:

    Gosh, I know all that, it’s just the better sense of humor I need as I look at myself in the exercise mirror.

  3. Wonderful, terrible, surprising, expected realizations.

  4. Kate sounds like such a wonderful woman. I wish you’d gotten her for longer than two years, though. I think being her body-type legacy is sort of special.

Leave a Reply

