The February Garden

I’m sure it’s because of the snow, and the lack of sun, and the cold and, of course, because it’s February, the shortest, but, in fact, the “longest” month (despite what T.S. Eliot says about April) that my energy begins to turn toward things green and new growth. (It is also notable that my energies turn in this direction way before the earth’s).

And so I have found myself sprouting the core/ends/eyes of vegetables that I would usually compost–Romaine lettuce, garlic, potatoes, celery, carrots, beets, daikon radish. It’s not that this is a new activity for us. We have two avocado plants, an orange tree, date palms grown from seeds of delicious meals. But this last few weeks, it has become a near obsession with formerly considered detritus. I have put a splash of water in bowls, glasses, and plates tucked behind the kitchen sink, acting as incubators for potential harvest. When I shop now, I see new possible plants from the vegetables I buy.

Today, I planted my first crop of vegetables in potting soil.

It helps me transition to spring with visceral promise.

This entry was posted in centering, food, garden, nature, transformation, winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The February Garden

  1. JEROME BLOOM says:

    THANKS

    FOR THE

    NUDGE

    TOWARDS

    SPRING

  2. I’ll have to take a class from you — I should be getting something ready to plan in MI. Where I have an actual space to garden. Covered with snow now, but still.

  3. JEROME BLOOM says:

    HEY NECESSITY

    WANT A BUNNY

    FOR ME

    IT’S CUTE

    AND IT KNOWS

    WHERE TO FIND

    FOOD

Leave a Reply

