Ida’s oatmeal cookies

IMG_0874

My mother was not a cook of any kind. She wanted to be a modern American woman (her parents were immigrants from Romania) and felt progressive and vogue with her TV dinners and Campbell soups. My husband’s mother, on the other hand, was an amazing creative energy in the kitchen. When I got the news that school will be cancelled tomorrow, instead of preparing for class I wandered into the kitchen where JB and I recreated yet another version of her oatmeal cookies (recipe is below). The good news is that I will be home to eat them all. Sorry waistline, it’s also the bad news.

IMG_0880

This entry was posted in cooking, family, food, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ida’s oatmeal cookies

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    GROWING
    UP
    IDA AND I
    MADE THESE I CAN STILL REMEMBER
    THE ELETRIC MOTOR SMELL
    FROM THE MIXMASTER
    BLENDED WITH
    SUGAR

    LATER AS I MOVED AROUND
    IN MY LIFE
    I MADE AND TAUGHT HOW TO
    MAKE THESE COOKIES
    WHEREVER I LANDED

    NOW MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN
    ENJOY THESE COOKIES

    HEALTHY
    SLIGHTLY SWEET TASTY
    MEMORIES

Leave a Reply

