From “Bestiary” by Sherman Alexie

My mother sends me a black-and-white
photograph of   her and my father, circa
1968, posing with two Indian men.
xxxxx
“Who are those Indian guys?” I ask her64a127d4e69359c04683809df1a646ba
on the phone.
xxxxx
“I don’t know,” she says.
xxxxx
The next obvious question: “Then why
did you send me this photo?” But I don’t
ask it.
xxxxx
One of those strange Indian men is
pointing up toward the sky.
xxxxx
Above them, a bird shaped like a
question mark.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From “Bestiary” by Sherman Alexie

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    Inside
    his poem
    like his look looking
    his eyes his ?

Leave a Reply

