“Did I shave my legs for this?”

Making the drives between Chicago and Toledo has opened up my pop cultural awareness to depths I could never have imagined. Having the time to listen to podcasts and music, wending my way east and west on I 80/94, has made me an astute arbiter of contemporary taste and style.

So let me share some of my newfound hip consciousness, perfect for Valentine’s Day— the country western tune, “Did I shave my legs for this?” (And, to think, if my mother were well, I might never have discovered this gem.)

Flowers and wine is what I thought I would find
When I came home from working tonight
Well now here I stand, over this frying pan
And you want a cold one again

I bought these new heels, did my nails
Had my hair done just right
I thought this new dress was a sure bet
For romance tonight
Well it’s perfectly clear, between the TV and beer
I won’t get so much as a kiss
As I head for the door I turn around to be sure
Did I shave my legs for this?

Now when we first met you promised you’d get
A house on a hill with a pool
Well this trailer stays wet and were swimmin’ in debt
And you want me to go back to school

I bought these new heels, did my nails
Had my hair done just right
I thought this new dress was a sure bet
For romance tonight
Well it’s perfectly clear, between the TV and beer
I won’t get so much as a kiss
As I head for the door I turn around to be sure
Did I shave my legs for this?
Darlin’ did I shave my legs for this?

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Did I shave my legs for this?”

  1. Jerome Bloom says:

    YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Amazing and wonderful, and I love that she is wiping her nose early in the video.

Leave a Reply

