I love my city. I love my neighborhood.

We spent the day with friends who have a summer home in Three Oaks, Michigan, absorbing the quiet and slow pace of a small town, eating food from the farmer’s market, engaging in easy conversation, and devouring amazing homemade ice creams (avocado, peach, mint and green tea, lime, strawberry, coconut and chocolate) made by my friend (We all scream for ice creamRainbow cone, a memory and a challenge). We were totally satiated, mellowed out, centered, and renewed.

In the evening, when we pulled into our garage at our home in urban Chicago, we were greeted with the following from two doors down  (you can also hear my keys opening the back door to the porch and then opening the door into the house).

This was not the neighbor’s music turned up high on the stereo or boom box or blasting from inside some car, but the real thing: musicians, wearing felt and glittered sombreros, playing trumpets, violins, guitars and lots and lots of joyous people enthusiastically and exuberantly singing and dancing to these dramatically performed and obviously familiar corridas.

I love my city. I love my neighborhood.

This entry was posted in music, neighborhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I love my city. I love my neighborhood.

  1. Wish I could have been there.

  2. Jerome Bloom says:

    AND
    A
    FEW
    YEARSAGO
    A
    GOAT
    WAS
    TIED
    TO
    ATREE
    INA
    NEIGHBORS
    YARD
    ITSBLEATING
    WOKE US
    LATER
    IT
    WAS
    KILLED
    PREPARED
    AND

    GUESTS
    FEASTED
    INCLUDING
    US

  3. Sounds like a fabulous place to live! Love the music.

  4. Awesome recording — makes me wonder about getting an i phone to have that app!

    Thanks, too, for the visit. It was wonderful to see you and JB.

Leave a Reply

