No respite from mindfulness

So I’m not really sure what happened. I had just pulled into a parking space on the street when a car pulled up alongside me. Inside the dark, large, relatively new car was an elegantly coiffed and well-dressed older woman, her otherwise attractive face a bit contorted, who was energetically directing a tirade of words at me, none of which I could hear or make out because her air conditioning was on and therefore her windows closed.

I had no idea what I had done wrong to elicit what seemed to be intense frustration on her part. There had been no cars behind me a moment before because I checked before pulling into the spot. I felt I was in a kind of surreal space. I was observing her anger from a distance and saw its physical manifestation without understanding any of it, as if I were watching the television with the sound off. She was like a confusing floating image passing through my consciousness while I might be daydreaming or meditating.

Without awareness or intention, it is clear we have enormous impact on others. Even without intention, there is intention. And sometimes, it is difficult to hear and be accountable for the consequences of this impact.

There’s no respite from mindfulness. Even when parking.

…even when you think the lady is clearly a jerk….

This entry was posted in behavior, mindfulness, transformation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No respite from mindfulness

  1. Clearly, in your eyes, she was a jerk. The hard part is that she may have had a reason for bitching you out. Or maybe not.

    The other day I was driving down Davis Street in Evanston. At approximately the same point in the block but on opposite sides of the street, one man was very slowly pulling into a parking space while another was about to pull out. To complicate matters there was a car that was double parked just a little ahead.

    I gave what I considered a good natured, gentle beep to warn the pulling out guy not to pull into me. The pulling in guy, whose window happened to be open on the street side, began haranguing me with how impatient I was and that I shouldn’t be driving if I was in such a hurry. Obviously he took the “beep” personally even though it wasn’t meant for him. I was, as Jan was, amazed at the impact I inadvertently had on him.

    Moral: Stay Home … or … Expect the Unexpected … or … Don’t Take Things Personally … or Be Kind to Others?

    • jyourist says:

      Actually I put the last statement in the post to be funny (clearly didn’t work) and to laugh at myself, because I am sure the lady had some real reason from her point of view to be pissed at me.

  2. Jerome Bloom says:

    AHMEN

    YYOU ALLS

    SHOULD

    BE

    GLAD

    THAT

    IMNOT

    DRIVING

    AGAIN

    YET

Leave a Reply

