Thousand-armed Guan Yin

Guan Yin (or Kwan Yin) is the Boddhisattva of Compassion, also known as Avalokiteshvara. I actually carry a small statuette of Avalokiteshvara around with me (see post I transform and am transformed), the thousand arms carrying different tools to solve a variety of problems.

A Chinese dance troupe has animated this Bodhisattva of Compassion (see video below). It is a remarkable dance not only for the precision, energy, and beauty of the movements, but for the fact that all the dancers are deaf, thereby following a communal internal rhythm, unguided by a literal musical pulse.

OM MANI PADME HUM…

This entry was posted in Buddha, compassion, dance, short films, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thousand-armed Guan Yin

  1. Laurie says:

    Wow!

  2. Michael says:

    Just re-read “I transform and am transformed.” Do you have any idea how BIG you live your life? Watched the above video. AMAZING!

  3. Mrs. Chili says:

    Did I ever tell you that I have an 8 pound concrete Kwan Yin as my class bathroom pass? She’s the “Bodhisattva Bathroom Buddy.”

    I crack myself up.

Leave a Reply

