Spread the word…

Indeed! Adopt-a-word. This is a plea from Oxford Dictionaries/ Oxford University Press:

Each year hundreds of words are dropped from the English language.

Old words, wise words, hard-working words. Words that once led meaningful lives, but now lie unused, unloved and unwanted.

Today, 90% of everything we write is communicated by only 7,000 words.

You can change all that. Help save the words!

If not for yourself, then for generations yet to come. Now, you may ask, what have future generations done for us lately?

Well not much. But one day they’ll be grateful. You never know, they may even have a word or two to say about you.

Help spread the word.

Yes, they are asking all of us to adopt-a-word, on a very humorously interactive website.

Here is my adopted word: blateration n. blabber, chatter

And the oath I checked— “I hereby promise to use this word, in conversation and correspondence, (and in blateration, I might add) as frequently as possible to the very best of my ability.”

I can even order a t-shirt with my word printed on it ($25).

I think I might have my students sign up. However, I will have to engage in more  blateration in order to let them know.

What word did you adopt? Please blaterate about it here.

This entry was posted in reading, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spread the word…

  1. Michael says:

    Fun site. My word is: Pocket Handkerchief. I still use one. Never blow my nose into it but one never knows when an emergency sneeze will come up with accompanying spray. Also good to quiet a cough or sneeze while at the Opera. Comes in great for drying my glasses after a rainstorm. Finally, provides the opportunity to provide chilvary when a damsel is crying.

Leave a Reply

