Five for Halloween

Twilight Zone was one of the most creative and clever television shows ever produced. Rod Serling was a genius. Its theme song has become part of our every day parlance. (My favorite shows were “In the Eye of the Beholder” and “To serve Man.”)

When I went to graduate school, I took a brilliant course which explored the links between Mozart’s music and the librettos in his operas. Isaac was only 5 at the time and he and I would do the homework together (ie watch videos of the operas over and over again). The following is the last scene from Don Giovanni which never failed to scare Isaac and send him under the couch.

Ah, The Rocky Horror Picture Show. I loved those late nights at the movie theater with everyone dressed up as one of the characters, spraying each other with water during the rain scenes, whipping out their umbrellas all at the same time, singing every song, verbally interacting with each character on the screen. (Did you know Susan Sarendon, a very young Susan Sarendon, plays Janet? She’s in the scene below.)

This is pure nostalgia.

And finally, the Queen of the Night in Mozart’s Magic Flute. Talk about a mother’s curse!

This entry was posted in acting, music, opera, television and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five for Halloween

  1. Michael says:

    A little stream of consciousness?

  2. JEROME BLOOM says:

    MAY WE NEVER RECOVER FROM THESE MYSTERIES

  3. isaac says:

    Wow. I had no recollection of this song, but Mom… What a feeling it brought to me! The song literally sent shivers down my spine. My hair stood on end. Something about the relentless demands, the low rumbling voice, the energy in the air. My body definitely remembered what my mind had hidden from me! What did you do to me as a child??? :)

Leave a Reply

